Heat Transfer Fluids Based on Glycerin

Glycerin is a substance well known to the consumer for many applications: cosmetology, medicine, food industry, tobacco production and just in everyday life.

Just like propylene glycol, when mixed with water, glycerin forms solutions that do not freeze at low temperatures.

Considering the above, along with the family of propylene glycol-based coolants, there is a family of glycerin-based coolants - liquids with a crystallization temperature below 0°C, the main component of which is glycerin.

Like propylene glycol, glycerin is a food additive, so glycerin-based heat transfer fluids are non-toxic and can be used without environmental restrictions.

Characteristics of glycerin-based heat transfer fluids

The main disadvantage of glycerin coolants is their high viscosity due to the high viscosity of the glycerin itself. Because of this property, such coolants cannot be used at all in circuits with natural circulation. In systems with forced circulation, a powerful pump will be needed that can pump the glycerine coolant at low temperatures, when its viscosity is maximum.

However, glycerin-based coolants also have an advantage. The price of a glycerine coolant is significantly less than the price of a propylene glycol-based coolant.

Thus, a glycerin-based coolant is a compromise between the characteristics of the coolant and its relatively cheap price.

A line of heat transfer fluids based on glycerin, as well as a mixture of glycerin and propylene glycol, is produced by Stron LLC in compliance with all technical documentation standards. The quality of glycerin-based heat transfer fluids is under constant laboratory control.

Теплоносители на основе глицерина

Глицерин — вещество, хорошо известное потребителю по многим применениям: косметология, медицина, пищевая промышленность, табачное производство и просто в быту.
Так же, как и пропиленгликоль, при смешивании с водой глицерин образует растворы, не замерзающие при отрицательных температурах.

Учитывая вышесказанное, наряду с семейством теплоносителей на основе пропиленгликоля, существует семейство теплоносителей на основе глицерина — жидкостей с температурой кристаллизации ниже 0°С, основным компонентом которых является глицерин.
Так же, как и пропиленгликоль, глицерин является пищевой добавкой, поэтому теплоносители на основе глицерина не токсичны и могут использоваться без экологических ограничений.

Преимущества и недостатки теплоносителей на основе глицерина

Основной недостаток глицериновых теплоносителей — большая вязкость вследствие высокой вязкости самого глицерина. Из-за этого свойства, такие теплоносители вообще невозможно использовать в контурах с естественной циркуляцией. В системах же с принудительной циркуляцией будет необходим мощный насос, способный прокачать глицериновый теплоноситель при низких температурах, когда его вязкость будет максимальной.

Однако у теплоносителей на основе глицерина есть и достоинство. Цена глицеринового теплоносителя по сравнению с ценой теплоносителя на основе пропиленгликоля значительно меньше.

Таким образом, теплоноситель на основе глицерина — это компромисс между характеристиками теплоносителя и его относительно дешевой ценой.

Линейка теплоносителей на основе глицерина, а также смеси глицерина и пропиленгликоля выпускается ООО «Строн» с соблюдением всех нормативов технической документации. Качество теплоносителей на основе глицерина находится под постоянным лабораторным контролем.